1 (866) 700-9300
Hablamos Español
Schedule an Appointment

SCHEDULE AN INSTALL NOW

Please fill out the form below to have a customer service representative contact you.

Name:
Email:
Telephone:
Zip Code:
State:

FAQ - New Mexico

Got a DWI – what now?

If you receive a DWI, the law requires you to have an ignition interlock installed in your vehicle to get a special restricted license. Follow these steps:

  1. Call ALCOLOCK. We can verify that you are eligible for a special restricted license and what conditions must be met before getting an ignition interlock installed.
  2. Book an appointment. If you are eligible, we can install an interlock within 48 hours of your call.
  3. Verify the installation with the New Mexico MVD. We will give you a registered certificate to confirm that you’ve had an approved ignition interlock installed.
  4. Receive your special restricted license from the MVD and drive away.

Call ALCOLOCK at 1 (888) 771-1830 for more information and to book an appointment.


Common Questions

Q: What happens if I don’t install an ignition interlock after receiving a court order or administrative license revocation?

A: If you do not provide verification that you have had an ignition interlock installed within 30 days of receiving a court order, you may have all driving privileges revoked or longer program requirements.


Q: How soon can ALCOLOCK install an ignition interlock in my vehicle?

A: You can usually have the installation completed within 48 hours of calling ALCOLOCK.


Q: Who pays for the ignition interlock program?

A: As outlined by the law, the client is responsible for all fees associated with participating in the ALCOLOCK ignition interlock program.


Q: How long is a typical ignition interlock program?

A: If convicted of a DWI in New Mexico, the law requires the participation in a minimum 1 year program.

** Note that program violations increase the length of the program.


Q: What is a program violation?

A: Program violations include things like failing a breath test, failing to provide a retest when required, and trying to bypass the ignition interlock. All potential program violations are fully explained in the “Compliance Manual” that you get with you enroll with ALCOLOCK.


Q: How often are service appointments required?

A: In New Mexico, ALCOLOCK service appointments are required at least every 60 days.


Q: How long do the appointments take?

A: ALCOLOCK service appointments typically take less than 20 minutes.


Q: Is the ignition interlock monitored?

A: New Mexico law mandates that every breath test is logged and encrypted by the ignition interlock. As a certified provider, ALCOLOCK is required to transfer the data to a secure database and report violations to jurisdictional authorities.


Q: How can I know if I’ll fail a breath test before taking one?

A: Besides not drinking at all, the easiest way to ensure that you don’t fail an ignition interlock test is to test yourself in advance. Advanced breath alcohol testers like the DRIVESAFE portable breath tester use the same sensors as ignition interlocks.


Subscribe to our newsletter