State Laws - Arizona
|Situation||Imprisonment||License Suspension||Refusing BAC Test from Police||Fines||Ignition Interlock Device Required|
|1st Offense||Min. 24 hours up to 10 days||90 to 360 days||1 year license suspension||$250 base fine||Yes|
|2nd Offense||Min. 30 days up to 90 days||1 year||2 year license suspension||$500 base fine||Yes|
|3rd Offense||Min. 4 months||1 year||2 year license suspension||$750 base fine||Yes|
|Under 21||BAC of .00% (zero tolerance)|
|21 or older||BAC of 0.08% or higher|
|Commercial||BAC of 0.04% or higher|
Special Restricted Driver’s License
* DUI-related violations in the State of Arizona on or after February 1st, 2006 results in a license suspension. To be eligible for a special restricted license, one needs to:
- Contact the Arizona Department of Transportation to verify your eligibility.
- Not have any other withdrawal actions pending on your driving history.
- Install an ignition interlock through MVD-authorized companies and provide the Arizona Department of Transportation with a form that verifies the installation.
- Attend (if required) mandatory alcohol treatment programs and submit a proof of completion to the Arizona Department of Transportation.
- Submit proof of future financial responsibility to the Arizona Department of Transportation (e.g. certificate of automobile liability insurance, also known as a SR22).
- Pay all of the applicable fees.
* Note the following information only applies for drivers over the age of 21.
For additional information, please contact the Arizona Department of Transportation.