State Laws - Florida
|Situation||Imprisonment||License Suspension||Refusing BAC Test from Police||Fines||Ignition Interlock Device Required|
|1st Offense||6 - 9 months||180 days to 1 year||1 year license suspension||$500 - $2,000||Yes|
|2nd Offense||9 months to 1 year||5 years (can be reduced to 1)||18 month license suspension||$1,000 - $4,000||Yes|
|3rd Offense||Up to 1 year||10 years (can be reduced to 2)||18 month license suspension||$2,000 - $5,000||Yes|
|Under 21||BAC of .02% or higher|
|21 or older||BAC of 0.08% or higher|
|Commercial||BAC of 0.04% or higher|
* DUI offense in Florida requires:
- Paying fines ranging from $500 - $2,000.
- Serving 50 hours of community service or paying $10 for each hour of community service required (1st DUI offense only).
- Serving a probationary period of no more than 1 year (1st DUI offense only).
- Serving jail time ranging from 6 months to 1 year.
- Waiting of vehicle impoundment or immobilization time (unless the family of defendant has no other means of transpiration) ranging from 10 days to 90 days. Impoundment or immobilization cannot occur concurrently with imprisonment time.
- DUI school attendance (if applicable).
- License revocation minimum of 180 days to permanent revocation for 4th and subsequent DUI offenses .
- A state approved ignition interlock device installed into the vehicle that the offender drives or operates if this is the 2nd DUI offense.
* Note the following information only applies for drivers over the age of 21.
For more information, please contact the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
Disclaimer: While we try to keep information up to date and relevant on our website, we recognize that there are other factors that can affect the way laws will apply to individual cases. Always consult with your attorney, local courts, judges and district attorneys for all relevant legal information.