State Laws - Illinois
|Situation||Imprisonment||License Suspension||Refusing BAC Test from Police||Fines||Ignition Interlock Device Required|
|1st Offense||Up to 1 year||Minimum 1 year||1 year license suspension||Up to $2,500||Yes|
|2nd Offense||Up to 1 year||Minimum 5 years||3 year license suspension||Up to $2,500||Yes|
|3rd Offense||3 - 7 years||Minimum 10 years||3 year license suspension||Up to $2,500||Yes|
|Under 21||Zero Tolerance|
|21 or older||BAC of 0.08% or higher|
|Commercial||BAC of 0.04% or higher|
* If one has committed a DUI offense for the 1st time in the state of Illinois, they may be eligible for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP), if:
- The minimum penalty of $500 is paid.
- Community service hours are completed (100 hours).
- There is a proof of completion of an alcohol evaluation session.
- Alcohol remedial education courses/treatment programs are completed.
- High-risk auto insurance is carried for 3 years.
Once one receives MDDP, he/she will need to install an Illinois state approved ignition interlock device within 14 days.
If one has committed a DUI offense for the 2nd or 3rd time in the state of Illinois, they may be eligible for a Restricted Driving Permit (RDP) if they:
- Have served a prison sentence (5-90 days) and/or completed community hours (240 hours), if applicable.
- Have served previous revocation time.
- Paid DUI penalties ($1,250 - $2,500).
- Have provided a proof of attendance at an alcohol evaluation session.
- Have provided a proof of completion of an alcohol remedial education course/treatment program.
- Have carried high-risk auto insurance for 3 years.
Once RDP is acquired one would need to install an Illinois state approved ignition interlock device within 14 days. The ignition interlock device should be installed on all vehicles registered under the offender’s name for 12 consecutive months.
* Note the following information only applies for drivers over the age of 21.
For more information, please contact CyberDrive Illinois.