State Laws - Michigan
|Situation||Imprisonment||License Suspension||Refusing BAC Test from Police||Fines||Ignition Interlock Device Required|
|1st Offense||Up to 93 days||Up to 6 months||1 year license suspension||$100 - $500||Possible|
|2nd Offense||5 days to 1 year||Minimum 1 year||2 year license suspension||$200 - $1,000||Yes|
|3rd Offense||30 days to 1 year||Minimum 1 year||5 year license suspension||$200 - $1,000||Yes|
|Under 21||Zero Tolerance|
|21 or older||BAC of 0.08% or higher|
|Commercial||BAC of 0.04% or higher|
* First and subsequent OWI Offense
For committing an OWI offense in state of Michigan, an offender will be subject to:
- Pay the fines.
- $100 - $500 for 1st offense.
- $200 - $5,000 for 2nd and subsequent offenses.
- Serve jail time and/or complete community service hours.
- Up to 93 days in jail and up to 360 hours of community service for the 1st offense.
- 5 days to a year in jail and/or 180 days of community service and/or serve on probation with 30 days to 1 year in jail for 2nd and subsequent offenses.
- Serve license suspension and license restriction time.
- 30 days license suspension followed by 150 days of license restrictions for 1st offense.
- 1 - 5 years license suspension for 1-5 years for 2nd and subsequent offenses.
- Vehicle immobilization from 90 days to 3 years or vehicle forfeiture for 2nd and subsequent offenses.
- Confiscation of license plates for 2nd and subsequent offenses.
- Installation of an ignition interlock device from a state approved vendor.
- Pay driver responsibility fees.
- $500 - $1,000 for 2 consecutive years for 1st offense.
- $1,000 for 2 consecutive years for 2nd and subsequent offenses.
* Note the following information only applies for drivers over the age of 21.
For more information, please contact the State of Michigan Secretary of State.