State Laws - Ohio
|Situation||Imprisonment||License Suspension||Refusing BAC Test from Police||Fines||Ignition Interlock Device Required|
|1st Offense||3 days to 6 months||6 months to 3 years||1 year license suspension||$250 to $1,000||No|
|2nd Offense||10 days to 1 year||1 to 5 years||3 year license suspension||$350 to $1,500||No|
|3rd Offense||10 days to 1 year||1 to 10 years||5 year license suspension||$350 to $1,500||Yes|
|4th Offense||60 days to 1 year||3 years to permanent||N/A/td>||$800 to $10,000||Yes|
|Under 21||BAC of 0.02% or higher|
|21 or older||BAC of 0.08% or higher|
|Commercial||BAC of 0.04% or higher|
* If one has been convicted for an OVI offense in Ohio, his/her license will be suspended for up to 1 year. One may be eligible to regain driving privileges if he/she installs a state approved ignition interlock device. In addition, they:
- Will be required to serve jail time ranging from 3 days – 30 days (for 3rd and subsequent convictions).
- May be subject to possible house arrest from 30 days to 1 year. This condition is only available for 1st and 2nd OVI convictions.
- Will need to pay a fine in the amount ranging from $250 - $2,500 (for 3rd and subsequent convictions).
- May be subject to impoundment of their vehicle ranging from 30 to 60 days. This only applies for 1st and 2nd OVI convictions.
- May need to submit vehicle and criminal forfeiture. In addition, the courts may fine one by the value of the vehicle. This condition only applies to 3rd and subsequent OVI convictions.
NOTE: To acquire an ignition interlock device, one would require an Interlock License from BMV, proof of insurance, schedule an appointment with a probationary department as well as with a state approved ignition interlock provider for the installation of the device.
* Note the following information only applies for drivers over the age of 21.
For more information, please contact the Ohio Department of Public Safety.