State Laws - Texas
|Situation||Imprisonment||License Suspension||Refusing BAC Test from Police||Fines||Ignition Interlock Device Required|
|1st Offense||3 to 180 days||90 to 365 days||180 day license suspension||Up to $2,000 (unless a child under 15 is in car)||No|
|2nd Offense||30 days to 1 year||180 days to 2 years||2 year license suspension||Up to $4,000 (unless a child under 15 is in car)||Yes|
|3rd Offense||2 years||180 days to 2 years||2 year license suspension||Up to $10,000||Yes|
|Under 21||BAC of 0.02% or higher|
|21 or older||BAC of 0.08% or higher|
|Commercial||BAC of 0.04% or higher|
* If one has been convicted of a DWI offense for the 1st or subsequent time, he/she may be subject to all or some of the following:
- Participation in an alcohol education program.
- Having their license suspended.
- Serving jail time.
- Complete community service.
- Serving a probationary period.
- Payment of fines.
- Submitting the financial responsibility form (SR22 insurance).
- Payment of reinstatement fees.
- Installation of an ignition interlock device in one’s vehicle(s) from a state approved vendor. Payment of associated fees.
- Obtaining a restricted driver’s license after an ignition interlock installation.
* Note the following information only applies for drivers over the age of 21.
For more information, please contact the Texas Department of Public Safety.