State Laws - Minnesota
|Situation||Imprisonment||License Suspension||Refusing BAC Test from Police||Fines||Ignition Interlock Device Required|
|1st Offense||Up to 90 days||Up to 90 days||1 year revocation of license||$1,000||Yes (if BAC is .15 or above)|
|2nd Offense||Up to 1 year||180 days||1 year revocation of license||$3,000||Yes|
|3rd Offense||Up to 1 year||Minimum 1 year||1 year revocation of license||$3,000||Yes|
|4th Offense||Up to 7 year||Up to 4 years||N/A||$14,000||Yes|
|Under 21||BAC of 0.00% or higher (zero tolerance)|
|21 or older||BAC of 0.08% or higher|
Lookback Period: 10 years (period of time that prior DWIs are relevant for sentencing).
* If one has committed a DWI offense in the state of Minnesota he/she will need to obtain an ignition interlock restricted license to regain their revoked driving privileges. In addition, one may need to:
- Apply for a Class D driver’s license and have a record of payment of associated fees (1st DWI offense only).
- Pay reinstatement fees of $680.
- Pass the DWI knowledge test.
- Provide proof of insurance.
- Sign an agreement to participate in an ignition interlock program and provide MN DVS with appropriate documents.
- Obtain special plates if one’s vehicle has been impounded.
- Install an ignition interlock device from a state approved vendor.
- Complete a limited license application (3rd DWI offense only) .
- Sign a Last Use Statement Form (3rd DWI offense only).
* Note the following information only applies for drivers over the age of 21.
For more information, please contact the Minnesota of Department of Public Safety.