The state of Arizona takes drunk driving very seriously. Like all other states, you can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Arizona if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or above, or .04 or above if you are a commercial driver. And of course, if you’re under the legal drinking age of 21, if a breathalyzer detects even the slightest amount of alcohol in your system, you may face a DUI charge. But Arizona’s DUI penalties are a little more strict than some states when it comes to ignition interlock device requirements. Arizona is what’s known as an all offender state, meaning even first time DUI offenders have to get an ignition interlock device installed as part of getting your full driving privileges back. And you must keep the device installed in your vehicle for a minimum of 12 months (one year).
When we say one year, that is the set time for any DUI offender to have the device installed. If you are a first time offender, you may be eligible for a 6-month deferment. You would be under certain restrictions, such as no violations during the first 6 months, and making it to all of your service appointments. If you follow all of the rules, a year is the most it will be. If you violate the program, the Motor Vehicle Department (MVD) and the courts can add time to your restricted driving program. And, if for any reason, you lose your restricted driving privileges for any reason, you must serve out the full license suspension period.
Arizona’s Ignition Interlock Device Laws
Arizona has a number of statutes covering ignition interlock devices — who has to have one, for how long, what the program violations are, and more. Arizona State Statute 28-1461 goes over the ignition interlock requirements if you were convicted of DUI or refused to take the breath test. As stated previously, any DUI conviction will result in you needing to get an ignition interlock restricted license, and fulfilling the terms of the program before you can get your regular license reinstated.
You must have your ignition interlock device installed by a certified vendor. ALCOLOCK is certified in the state of Arizona. The state requires your device to meet or exceed the model specifications for ignition interlock devices set by the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA) but also requires:
- Your device be equipped with a camera
- Your device be equipped with GPS
- Your device have real-time reporting capabilities
Arizona authorities are not messing around. Your device has a camera and it will take a picture of you every time you give a breath sample, whether at startup, or during a rolling retest. This is to ensure it’s really you giving the breath sample, and also to provide a snapshot of whether you looked visibly impaired when you gave the breath sample.
The device must have a GPS so that authorities can locate you if you fail a rolling retest, for example. The real-time reporting capabilities allow the device to notify the MVD if you are attempting to drink and drive.
If you have more general questions, you may want to visit the Arizona Department of Transportation FAQs page on ignition interlock devices.
ALCOLOCK Ignition Interlock Device Installation in Arizona
If you have to get an ignition interlock device installed in Arizona, ALCOLOCK has a number of service centers near you. From Kingman to Nogales to Taylor to Yuma, we have locations in every corner of The Grand Canyon State. To schedule your IID installation, just call the service location most convenient to your home or workplace to set up your appointment. You can also call ALCOLOCK directly at (866) 700-9300.
Once we’ve verified your program eligibility, in most cases we can schedule your installation within 48 hours of your call. You will want to plan to have someone drive you to your appointment. The installation appointment will last about an hour. That time includes the technician installing the IID in your vehicle, calibrating it to you, specifically, training you how to use it, and explaining what all of the sounds, lights, and messages mean. If someone else will be driving your vehicle while the IID is installed, they should come for calibration and training as well. Let us know if this will be the case when you call to make your appointment.
And before you go, we will schedule your first service visit. Those usually only last about 20 minutes