FAQ About IID Installation in Tennessee
If you’ve been charged with or convicted of a DUI in Tennessee, you’re probably overwhelmed and wondering what comes next. In most cases you’ll have to get an ignition interlock installed in your vehicle. An ignition interlock device, or IID, is a breathalyzer that connects to your ignition and won’t allow you to start the car until you pass the test.
Having an ignition interlock installed in Tennessee is a critical step to obtaining a special restricted license. It’s important that you have your ignition interlock installed by a reputable, state-approved, and registered service provider who can help you through the process and help you get back on track.
If you’ve been given a court order that states you need an IID, you probably have a lot of questions. Here are the questions we hear most often from those who have to get an IID for the first time. But first, there are a few things you should do immediately.
IID Installation: First Steps
Before anything else, you should follow these steps. Following the steps below will help you get the ball rolling as soon as possible and ensure the smoothest and most efficient process as it relates to having your IID installed and keeping up with the scheduled maintenance.
- Call ALCOLOCK. We can confirm that you’re eligible for a special restricted license and go over the conditions you’ll have to meet in order to have your ignition interlock installed.
- Make your first appointment. As soon as we verify your eligibility, we can have an ignition interlock installed in your vehicle within 48 hours of your call.
- Complete your verification with Tennessee. As soon as we get your ignition interlock installed we’ll issue you a registered certificate. That certificate confirms that your vehicle has a state-approved IID installed, which you’ll need in order to obtain a special restricted license.
- Get your license. Most of the time, Tennessee restricted licenses are offered after you serve your suspension. In other words, you’ll probably only be obtaining an IID and a restricted license after you’ve served out whatever suspension you were given. However, there are certain cases where the courts might let you obtain a restricted license during your suspension, as well. While each case is different and only your Tennessee DUI attorney can tell you which of these situations applies to you, once you are able to obtain your restricted license, be sure to do so as soon as possible. Follow all procedures and file all necessary paperwork so you can obtain your restricted license in a timely manner and get going with your IID program. The sooner you start, the sooner you’ll have your independence back.
Call ALCOLOCK at (866) 700-9300 for more information and to book an appointment.
Commonly Asked Questions About IID Installations in Tennessee
Q: What happens if I fail to have an ignition interlock installed after I get my court order?
A: You’re required by law to submit verification that your ignition interlock device is installed within 30 days of the court order issue date. Failure to do so may lead to a revocation of all your driving privileges.
Q: How soon can ALCOLOCK have an ignition interlock installed in my vehicle?
A: Once we complete the verification process, ALCOLOCK can have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle within 48 hours of your call. It’s important to make the appointment as soon as possible after verification.
Q: Who pays the fees associated with the ALCOLOCk ignition interlock program?
A: As per Tennessee law, the client is responsible for all fees associated with the ignition interlock installation and maintenance. This is not a policy that is unique to ALCOLOCK; it is a state law that is true no matter who you go through.
Q: How long does the ignition interlock program last?
A: The length of your program depends on your unique situation and the specifications in your court order. However, Tennessee law dictates that the minimum length of an IID program for first offenders is six months, so you can safely assume that you’ll have the device for at least six months. Note that any program violations will extend the length of time you have to spend in the program.
Q: What constitutes a program violation?
A: There are a number of things that could be considered program violations. Failing a test, trying to trick the system, driving another vehicle that doesn’t have the device, failing to take a retest when requested, and other similar actions are all considered program violations. You’ll receive a full Compliance Manual when you have ALCOLOCK install your ignition interlock. The manual will go over everything that constitutes a program violation, so you won’t have to wonder.
Q: How often do I have to come in for service appointments?
A: In accordance with Tennessee law, service appointments are required every 30 days.
Q: How long does it take to complete a service appointment?
A: Most ALCOLOCK service appointments take around 20 minutes to complete.
Q: Is the IID monitored and are my readings recorded?
A: Tennessee law stipulates that IID devices record and encrypt every breathalyzer test and its results. We are required to store those readings and encrypt them. They are then uploaded to a secure server where court and jurisdictional authorities can access them and use the information as necessary in relation to your case.
Q: How do I know whether or not I’m going to fail a breathalyzer test?
A: The best way to be sure that you won’t run into any problems passing the test is to avoid alcohol altogether while you’re in the program. However, if you need to know whether or not you’ll pass you can purchase a device like the DRIVESAFE portable breathalyzer test. It uses the same technology as the IID in your vehicle, so if you pass the DRIVESAFE test, you’ll likely pass the IID test, also.
If you have more questions, give ALCOLOCK a call at 1-866-700-9300. We’re happy to help you navigate the ignition interlock process.