It’s been almost a year since the North Carolina General Assembly directed the N.C. Department of Motor Vehicles to set fees to cover the DMV annual operating budget, which in 2017 was $3.73 million. The DMV responded by raising DMV hearing costs from free to more than $1200, in some cases.
For example, if your license was suspended for DWI in North Carolina in 2016 and you wanted a DMV hearing to end your suspension early, the administrative hearing was free. Now, according to the Administrative Hearing Fees Schedule, the same DWI license restoration hearing will cost you $425. And it’s $450 if you refused a chemical analysis such as a breathalyzer or blood test when officers pulled you over. And those fees don’t include the $225 fee for a pre-interview for an alcohol-related suspension or revocation of your license. These various hearing fees are in addition to the $130 license restoration fee that has been in place for years.
All those fees can really add up! And all of that money is on top of any lawyer’s costs or the actual installation and leasing of your ignition interlock device. And under North Carolina DWI laws, even if it’s your first offense, if your blood alcohol content (BAC) was .16 or above, you’re required to get an IID installed in your vehicle. IID installation is mandatory for a repeat offense.
This is part of the state’s Limited Driving Privileges statutes. The length of time you have to have the IID in your vehicle depends on the circumstances of your individual case, including your BAC, and whether this was a repeat offense. And the DMV fees don’t end when you get your restricted license and the IID installed in your car. If you violate the program terms, that’s another $450
What If I Can’t Afford to Pay?
While North Carolina, like many other states, has a financial hardship program in place if you can’t afford to pay all of the DMV hearing fees, you have to fill out what’s called an Affidavit of Indigence to request to have your case reviewed as far as your ability to pay for the DMV hearing. You’ll have to supply the DMV with proof of your income, with documentation including tax forms, pay stubs, proof of public assistance and more. .
In North Carolina’s ignition interlock device program, you are required to have a device installed in each vehicle that is registered to you. If you feel you cannot afford to have the IID installed in all of your vehicles, you can request a fee waiver by filling out the Affidavit of Indigence II.
But keep in mind, just because you think you can’t afford all the fees associated with getting your driver’s license back and completing your ignition interlock device driving program, don’t assume the DMV will agree. If they find you do not meet their criteria for indigent, you will be required to pay all fees in full before your DMV hearing will be scheduled.
Find an Installation and Service Center Near You
ALCOLOCK is a North Carolina authorized provider and installer of ignition interlock devices, and we will work with you to schedule your installation as quickly as possible after you are approved for the program and we get the necessary paperwork. Whether you are required to have the IID in your vehicle for one year or 7, we offer affordable installation and leasing programs. Our goal is to help you meet the requirements of your program so that you can get your life back to normal.
Once your IID is installed, our technicians will train you in how to use it properly. We’ll also set up your first monthly service visit. By law, you are required to bring your vehicle in to the service center each month so we can upload the record of your breath tests to the DMV, which keeps track of any violations such as failed tests, skipped tests or attempting to tamper with the device. These service visits generally only take 20 minutes.
We have ALCOLOCK Installation and Service Centers all over the state of North Carolina. Find the one that’s most convenient to your location to get the process started. And if you’re interesting in getting an IID voluntarily installed on your vehicle to prevent anyone who uses your car from driving drunk, we can do that, too. We also sell a number of products to help you lessen the chance that you or a loved one will be pulled over for DWI.
We’re With You On the Way Back
At ALCOLOCK, we’re dedicated to helping drivers comply with their ignition interlock device program. Installation is easy, and maintenance visits are quick. If you need to get an IID installed in your vehicle, call us today at 866-700-9300 or use our contact form to schedule an installation.