Ignition Interlock Device Installation Locations In Connecticut

      If you need to get an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle as part of getting your license restored after an alcohol-related suspension, you’re probably looking around for affordable ignition interlock device installation locations in Connecticut. We have good news for you. ALCOLOCK, a pioneer in the ignition interlock industry, has multiple IID installation locations in Connecticut. From Hartford to New Haven to Bridgeport to Wilton, we’ve got you covered.

      Connecticut’s Drunk Driving Laws

      Compared to many states, Connecticut’s drunk driving laws are pretty strict. According to the state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), In Connecticut, you can be prosecuted for Operating Under the Influence (OUI) with or without any direct evidence of your blood alcohol content (BAC). The determining factor in a successful prosecution is if your ability to drive was impaired. OUI is the same thing as a DUI or DWI in other states.

      That being said, under Connecticut’s drunk driving laws, you are considered legally intoxicated and can face charges if you are over 21 and your BAC is .08 or higher. This is in line with other states across the country. If you are under the age of 21, you are legally intoxicated if your BAC is .02 or higher.

      The criminal penalties you face will vary depending on your BAC level, if this is a first or subsequent offense, if anyone was injured or killed in the accident, and a number of other factors.

      Two Ways You Can Lose Your License

      There are two ways you can use your license if a law enforcement officer believes you have been drinking and pulls you over:

      1. Administrative Per Se Through the DMV This means you refused to take or failed the chemical test (breath, blood, urine) after your arrest for OUI. So, you will lose your license for a specified amount of time, whether you are convicted on the charge or not.
      2. Court Conviction on the OUI Charge This is pretty self-explanatory.

      Connecticut’s Ignition Interlock Device Laws

      Connecticut is an all offender state when it comes to the use of ignition interlock devices after you’ve been charged with/convicted of OUI. That means even if it’s your first offense, if you had an alcohol-related license suspension, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. The length of time you will have to have the IID installed depends on the severity of your offense, and whether you are a repeat offender. The DMV administers the IID program.

      The offense and length of time for an IID after an Administrative Per Se suspension are listed below.

      Failing the Chemical Test — Under 21 Years Old

      • First offense — 1 year
      • Second offense — 2 years
      • Third or subsequent offense — 3 years

      Failing the Chemical Test — Over the Age of 21

      • First offense — 6 months
      • Second offense — 1 year
      • Third or subsequent offense — 2 years

      Refusal to Submit to the Chemical Test — ALL Drivers

      • First offense — 1 year
      • Second offense — 2 years
      • Third or subsequent offense — 3 years

      The length of time you are required to have the ignition interlock device installed after a criminal conviction for OUI increases substantially.

      First offense conviction

      ●       45 day license suspension

      ●       1 year IID installation or for the duration under Administrative Per Se, whichever is longer

      Second offense conviction

      ●       45 day license suspension

      ●       3 years IID, with the first year restricted to driving only to and from work or school, alcohol treatment, the IID service center, or to meet with your probation officer

      Third or subsequent offense conviction

      ●       Your license will be permanently revoked.

      ●       You must wait a minimum of two years to request a hearing for reconsideration.

      ●       If you get a favorable ruling, you will be required to have an IID installed for at least 15 years.

      Visit the DMV to learn more about Connecticut’s ignition interlock device program.

      What to Expect at Your Installation Appointment

      First off, you will need to have someone drive you and your vehicle to the installation appointment. Once the device is installed, you can drive according to your DMV restrictions.

      Your ignition interlock device installation appointment will take about an hour. That includes the time it takes the technician to actually install the device, which involves hooking the Electronic Control Unit (ECU) to the starter. The technician will also calibrate the device to you, specifically, and train you how to use it properly. Before you leave, you will know what all of the sounds and messages mean, and you will get a user’s manual. The technician will also complete the vendor portion of your IID installation paperwork. You can call your service location at any time if you run into trouble, or visit our Troubleshooting Tips.

      IID Maintenance Appointments

      At the installation visit, the technician will also schedule your first maintenance appointment. These monthly visits are required by state law. At each visit, the technician will recalibrate the device as needed, and send all of the information the device has recorded to the DMV. Maintenance appointments take 20 minutes or less.

      Schedule an Appointment at One of Our Ignition Interlock Device Installation Locations in Connecticut

      You can call one of our Connecticut ignition interlock device installation locations directly, or call ALCOLOCK at 866-700-9300 to schedule your installation appointment. You can also use our contact form. We look forward to working with you to get you back on the road.

      Skip to toolbar