From Bessemer Harbor to Ann Arbor and everything in between, you can easily find one of ALCOLOCK’S ignition interlock device installation locations near you. Our statewide network of service locations, managed by Safe Streets Interlock, means even in the most remote Michigan locations, we have a service center within 50 miles. We are an approved breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) vendor in the state of Michigan. This means our ignition interlock devices meet or exceed all state requirements for initial startup testing, rolling retests, and reporting test results to the state. Specifically, we provide device test result reports directly to the Michigan Secretary of State.
Michigan Ignition Interlock Device Laws
If you drive drunk in Michigan, the state’s OWI laws (Operating While Intoxicated) lay out the penalties for the various offenses, whether first time, or subsequent offense. The OWI case is handled by the criminal courts. When it comes to your driver’s license, the Secretary of State gets involved. The Secretary of State runs the BAIID program and determines who must get a BAIID installed, and sets the initial duration of installation at one year. First offenders are not required to get a BAAID installed unless you had a high blood alcohol content (BAC) of .17 or higher.
If you have any of the following combination of drunk or drugged driving convictions, Michigan law indicates that you are a Habitual Offender.
- Two or more convictions within seven years.
- Three or more convictions within 10 years.
As a habitual offender, the Secretary of State will automatically revoke your driver’s license and deny your application for another license. After the minimum period of revocation you may be eligible for a driver’s license appeal hearing. If you are granted a restricted license, the hearing officer will require that you install a BAIID on any vehicle you own or intend to drive. You cannot drive until you get the BAIID properly installed by an authorized vendor, and you provide proof of installation to a local Secretary of State branch office.
In Michigan, your BAIID will be equipped with a camera to take a picture of you each time you take the breath test. You are required to submit a breath sample each time you want to start your vehicle, and submit random samples once you have started driving. The BAIID will tell you when to take a rolling retest. Pass the test and you can start the car as you normally would. A start-up test failure means you can’t start the car. A rolling retest failure will not shut down your car in the middle of the highway, but it will be recorded, and result in consequences.
Violations of Michigan’s restricted driving / BAIID program are broken down into “minor” and “major” violations.
Minor BAIID Violations:
- You have two months after you get the BAIID installed to become familiar with the device, and to learn that certain substances, such as mouthwash or cough syrup may cause the device to record a test failure. After the first two months, the state considers it a minor violation if the BAIID records three start-up test failures within a monitoring period. Your monitoring period is the full length of time the state requires you to have the BAIID installed
- It’s a minor violation if you fail to report to your BAIID installer for servicing within a week after your scheduled monitoring appointment
Major BAIID Violations:
- Rolling retest violations, including:
- Failure to take the rolling retest as directed by the BAIID; or
- The random retest detects a BAC of .025 or higher, and you don’t give a followup sample with a BAC of less than .025 within five minutes
- An additional arrest or conviction for drunk and/or drugged driving
- Tampering with the BAIID
- Circumventing the BAIID.(Attempting to have someone else take the breath test)
- Three minor violations within a monitoring period
- Removing the BAIID and not getting another device installed within seven days, unless the Secretary of State has authorized the removal
- Operating a vehicle without a properly installed BAIID
BAIID Violation Penalties
Each minor violation will result in a three-month extension of your monitoring period before you can request another license appeal hearing. Major violations will result in the immediate reinstatement of your original driver’s license revocation/denial.
So you can see that the state takes your compliance with the BAIID restricted driving program very seriously. And so should you, if you want to get your full driving privileges back as quickly as possible.
What to Expect at Your Ignition Interlock Device Installation Appointment
An ignition interlock device installation appointment generally takes about an hour. This includes the time that it takes for the technician to hook the device up to your engine’s starter, calibrate the handheld device to you, specifically, and the time it takes to teach you how to use the device. We will also schedule your first monitoring/service visit.
You should plan on having someone drive you and your vehicle to the appointment, as you cannot drive yourself. After the device is installed, you can drive yourself. If someone else may be using your vehicle, bring them with you to your appointment, so we can show them how to properly use the device as well. Anyone using your vehicle will have to use the BAIID.
Schedule Your Ignition Interlock Device Installation
To schedule your breath alcohol ignition interlock device installation service center, please call our Michigan Service Provider – Safe Streets Interlock at 855-875-4579. In most cases, we can get your installation completed within two days of your call and in some cases – same day. Our goal is to help you complete your restricted driving program successfully.