The state of New Mexico takes drunk driving pretty seriously. The state’s DWI laws are in line with many other states as far as what constitutes drunk driving. Penalties can be harsh, including license suspension, jail time, fines, mandatory alcohol abuse treatment, and ignition interlock device (IID) installation for ALL offenders, even first-time offenders.
If you need to get an IID installed, ALCOLOCK has ignition interlock device installation locations throughout the state of New Mexico. We’re just a phone call away.
Drunk driving in New Mexico is defined differently based on your age and if you are a commercial driver. You can be charged with DWI if you are driving with :
- .08 or higher blood alcohol concentration (BAC) if you’re over 21
- .01 BAC if you’re under 21, because you’re not legally allowed to consume any amount of alcohol
- .04 BAC if you’re a commercial driver
Even if you are not eventually convicted of DWI, keep in mind that under the implied consent law, your license will be revoked automatically if you are pulled over for DWI and you:
- Fail a chemical test
- Refuse a chemical test
- Or both
This revocation is called an administrative revocation and is separate from any legal proceedings.
The implied consent law states that by getting a state driver’s license, you have agreed to submit to chemical tests of your breath, blood, or urine to determine alcohol or drug content if a law enforcement officer asks you to do so. In other words, each time you get behind the wheel, you have already answered “yes” to taking a chemical test when asked to do so by a law enforcement officer.
Getting Your License Reinstated After a DWI in New Mexico
According to the New Mexico Motor Vehicles Department, there are a number of requirements you will have to fulfill in order to get your driver’s license reinstated. These include:
- You must complete the license revocation.
- You must satisfy all ignition interlock device requirements.
- You must have completed a minimum of 6 months of driving with an ignition interlock device and an ignition interlock license with no attempts to circumvent or tamper with the device.
New Mexico Laws Regarding Ignition Interlock Device Installation
New Mexico’s ignition interlock device laws require all offenders to get an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle if you’ve been convicted of driving while intoxicated. And if you violated the implied consent law mentioned above, you will also have your license suspended.
In New Mexico, ignition interlock device installation is mandated by court order. If it’s the first time you’re applying for an ignition interlock license you’ll have to pay a fee of $113. If you’re renewing your ignition interlock license, you’ll have to provide several forms of paperwork including proof that your IID is currently installed and working and a signed and notarized Ignition Interlock Affidavit. The affidavit is form MVD-10456. Be sure that your signature and VIN number are on the affidavit, as well.
The length of time you’ll have to keep the IID installed in your vehicle depends on a number of factors including your BAC at the time of arrest and how many prior convictions you had on your record, and other specific aspects of your case. Be sure to consult your court order, case details, and speak with your DWI attorney in order to know exactly what you need to do.
What to Expect at Your Ignition Interlock Installation Appointment
When you call to schedule your ignition interlock device installation, we’ll confirm your eligibility for the ignition interlock program and get you scheduled quickly — generally within 48 hours of your call. Your appointment will consist of the actual installation of the ignition interlock device, calibrating it to you specifically, and training you in the proper use and care of the device. We will also schedule your first follow-up maintenance appointment.
Monthly Maintenance Visits
You’ll have to come in for monthly maintenance visits throughout the court-ordered IID installation period. These visits take about 20 minutes. During that time, your technician will upload the information that the device recorded to your monitoring agency, which is generally the NM Motor Vehicle Division. They will also make any adjustments to the device as necessary. Once you have completed the program requirements, we’ll remove the device for you, as well.
At ALCOLOCK, our goal is to help you successfully complete your ignition interlock program successfully, with as little hassle as possible.
ALCOLOCK Ignition Interlock Device Installation Locations in New Mexico
From Farmington to Las Cruces and everywhere in between, ALCOLOCK has a number of ignition interlock device installation locations in New Mexico. Check out the list below and call one of our providers directly, or call us at 866-700-9300. You can also use our contact form to schedule an installation.